The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of Nevada, Las Vegas
   
 
  Jul 27, 2017
 
 
    
Skip Navigation
2009-2011 Graduate Catalog ARCHIVED CATALOG: CONTENT MAY NOT BE CURRENT. USE THE DROP DOWN ABOVE TO ACCESS THE CURRENT CATALOG.

Tuition & Fees


 

Fees:  All fees assessed by the university are subject to change by the Board of Regents. Every effort is made to keep fees low as possible while rendering the desired level of service. Nonresident fees are calculated to cover a major part of the direct cost of instruction.

 

Policies & Procedures

Deferred Payment Option
Delinquent Accounts
Grants-in-Aid
Group Health and Accident Insurance Fee

  Nevada Residency for Tuition Purposes
Refund of Fees
Room and Board Refund
Special Fees and Charges
Student Health Fee

Graduate Tuition and Fees*

*The fees listed below are applicable to Fall 2009 and Spring 2010.

Graduate Per Credit Hour Fee   $217.25
Non-Resident Graduate Fees:    

 

1-6 credits   $457.25 per credit hour
  7 or more credits   $6170.00 per semester +
    $217.75 graduate per credit hour fee
  Good Neighbor Graduate Fee   $457.25 per credit hour
Other Fees    
  Graduate and Professional    
  Student Association   $18.00 per semester
  International Education   $2.00 per semester
  Rebel Recycling   $1.00 per semester
  Student Health   $70.00 per semester
  Technology   $4.00 per credit hour
  Student Life Facilities   $173.00 per semester for 4 or more credits
 
International Student (international students only)
  $145.00 per semester
  Integrate  
$3.00 per credit
  New Graduate Student Orientation   $35.00
     
Boyd School of Law Tuition and Fees  
School of Dental Medicine Tuition and Fees    
     

Nonresident Tuition

Students who are not Nevada residents must pay a nonresident tuition fee in addition to the per credit hour fees per semester. Nonresident students taking less than seven credits should contact the Admissions Office for up-to-date fee information. Students eligible under Good Neighbor regulations pay a reduced nonresident tuition fee in addition to the per credit hour registration fee per semester.

 

Audit Fee

The fee for audit is the same as the fee for registering for credit. The equivalent credits of an audit course are considered in determining if the student is assessed out-of-state tuition.

     

Nevada Residency for Tuition Purposes

^Top

Residency Decisions

The Board of Regents establishes Nevada residency for tuition purposes regulations. For admitted degree-seeking graduate students, residency status is determined at the time of admission to a degree-seeking program and is indicated in the official Letter of Admission from the Graduate College. Non-degree-seeking graduate students will generally be classified as out-of-state until and unless Nevada residency is determined via the residency application process. If the residency status is not “Nevada,” out-of-state tuition will be assessed. Residency decisions are made during the application process and will be posted on the admission acceptance letter.

Qualifying for Nevada Residency

The following categories qualify for Nevada resident status:

 
  1. A member of the Armed Forces of the United States

  2. Full-time licensed personnel employed by a public school district in Nevada

  3. A teacher who is currently employed full time in Nevada

  4. A professional or classified employee of the University and Community College System of Nevada

  5. Company relocation (also applies to spouse and children)

  6. Family relocation to the state

  7. Millennium scholarship recipients

  8. A student who has lived in the state for a period of 12 months

Applying for Nevada Residency

To apply for residency, download and complete the Residency Application and include photocopies of supporting documents. Mail or fax documentation to the Office of Admissions by the application deadline listed in the Academic Calendar and Registration Guide. Residency review for fall applications begins June 1; spring review begins Nov. 1.

Good Neighbor Regulations for  Reduced Nonresident Tuition

Students who claim residence for at least 12 months in a qualifying Arizona or California county, or graduates from a high school or community college in a qualifying Arizona or California county may be eligible to attend the  university at a reduced tuition cost. Those claiming residency for 12 months must have maintained legal bona fide residence for at least 12 consecutive months prior to the first day of the semester in which enrollment is sought.

Applications are available online or in the Graduate College. Requests for Good Neighbor status must be filed by the close of late registration for the semester in which the student has applied for admission. Any student who enrolls under this policy shall not be eligible for reclassification as a resident student unless the student has subsequently enrolled as a non-Good Neighbor nonresident for the period of one year, or did not enroll in an Nevada System of Higher Education  institution for at least 12 months immediately prior to the date of application for reclassification to resident student status.

Approved Good Neighbor Counties:

    

Arizona

   

Mohave

   
  California
    Alpine
    El Dorado
    Inyo
    Lassen
    Modoc
    Mono
    Nevada
    Placer
    Plumas
    San Bernardino
    Sierra Counties

 

Special Fees and Charges

^Top
  1. An application fee of $60 (domestic) is charged to any person applying for admission. It is not refundable or applicable to any other fee. International applicants must pay an additional $15 evaluation fee ($75.00 total).
  2. Special charges may be made according to current costs for the following:
    1. Courses requiring equipment, facilities or materials not available on the campus, i.e., golf and certain field courses.
    2. Courses requiring use of high technology equipment, e.g., computer courses or health profession courses.
    3. Private instruction in music and similar arts
    4. Noncredit courses, conferences, workshops, postgraduate professional seminars and similar educational offerings.
    5. Courses requiring field trips or travel.
    6. Personal expenses incurred by students in connection with field trips.
    7. Lab and computer usage fees.
  3. The following fees are either assessed or identified at registration.
    1. A late registration fee of $25 per day to a maximum of $250 is assessed to students who do not complete registration by the date designated. Summer Term students are assessed a late registration fee of $25 per day until the end of the late registration period for that Summer Session. In case the time designated for registration is not adequate, the Registrar may defer the assessment of this fee for one day.
    2. Returned Check Fee. Personal checks are accepted in payment of fees owed to the university, although no counter checks or checks altered in any way are accepted. A collection fee of $25 is assessed for any check returned unpaid by a bank. The check must be made good within 10 days or it will be turned over to a collection agency, and the student will be liable for all collection costs and any other related costs. If a personal check is returned from the bank, the university reserves the right to place the student on a cash basis only and withdrawal procedures may be initiated at the option of the university. A stop payment placed on a check does not constitute withdrawal from courses. Official withdrawal must be processed as returned checks and are subject to the same fees and collection cost.
    3. A graduation fee of $50 will be billed to the student’s account after the application for graduation is filed in the Graduate College. If a student fails to meet graduation requirements after a diploma has been ordered, $2.50 of the fee is forfeited.
    4. Late application for graduation, $20.
    5. A fee of $55 for Master Thesis publication and $65 for Doctoral Dissertation publication will be billed to the student’s account after the application for graduation is filed.

Student Health Fee

^Top

The Student Health program fees for Fall, Spring, and Summer semester classes are not to be confused with the voluntary Student Health Insurance plan. Program fees support various services offered by the Student Wellness Cluster.

The Student Health program facilitates on-campus educational experiences and leadership opportunities for all UNLV students; is responsible for public health protection of the UNLV community; provides access to health care and provisions or coordination of health needs for students; provides student counseling and psychological services; and includes the Jean Nidetch Women’s Center.

Group Health and Accident Insurance Fee

^Top

The Student Health Insurance plan is available to students formally admitted and currently enrolled taking six or more undergraduate credits or graduate students taking three or more credit hours. This plan is not to be confused with the student health program fee that all registered students pay for fall, spring, and summer sessions.

The Student Health Insurance provides services beyond those available through the Student Health Center for eligible on and off campus medical services. You may sign up for the Student Health Insurance by picking up an enrollment packet at the Student Health Center or Bursar’s Office prior to the beginning of Fall, Spring, and Summer sessions or by accessing the web.

Grants-in-Aid

^Top

Each student is expected to pay all assessed fees on registration day unless a grant-in-aid is secured prior to registration day. Students are responsible to pay their portion on time. Late fees and/or withdrawal may be initiated for a student’s portion and/or reported to a credit bureau. Legal proceedings may be initiated for any default accounts receivable.

Delinquent Accounts

^Top

A student or former student having a delinquent account receivable or an overdue student loan of any amount with any division of the Nevada System of Higher Education shall not be permitted to register, receive any type of transcript of records, grades, diploma or certificate or obtain services from any division. The university reserves the right to refer any delinquent account to a collection agency and/ or report to a credit bureau. Legal proceedings may be initiated for any delinquent account.

Deferred Payment Option

^Top

Deferred payment is available to students who are registered for seven credits or more and are not receiving any sort of financial aid, grant-in-aid, etc. There is a $20.00 service charge for all deferred fee payment plans. The $20.00 service charge plus 50 percent of the per credit fee, nonresident tuition (if applicable), and 100 percent of special fees are due by the first installment date. Second installment is due by Friday of the fourth week of instruction. Failure to pay the second half of the deferred payment on schedule will constitute withdrawal from the university. The tuition will still be owed, but the student will not receive credit for the courses. Any delinquent accounts may be reported to a credit bureau. All delinquent accounts not paid as required will be sent to a collection agency. The student is responsible for all collection costs, attorney fees, etc. All students must pay their tuition in full at registration or be on an approved deferred payment to be considered enrolled for the semester. All unapproved accounts will be disenrolled. No exceptions. The university reserves the right to deny deferred payment to any student who does not pay tuition and fees as scheduled, including late fees.

Refund of Fees

^Top

Students who withdraw from the university receive a refund of fees according to the schedule below, which is subject to change by the Board of Regents. All requests for exception to the refund policy for extraordinary circumstances must be made to Student Enrollment Services or the Fee Appeal Committee. An appeal form is available at Student Enrollment Services, Cashier’s Office or the Bursar’s Office website.

  1. For all UNLV students, including auditors, for net credit load reductions and withdrawals from the university, the refund policy is as follows:
    1. WITHIN THE FIRST WEEK OF INSTRUCTION.
      1. 100 percent credit of all fees.
    2. AFTER THE FIRST WEEK OF THE INSTRUCTIONAL PERIOD OF A REGULAR TERM.
      1. 50 percent credit for total withdrawals from all courses until the end of the sixth week. No credit for total withdrawals after the end of the sixth week.
      2. 0 percent credit for partial withdrawals.
  2. For all UNLV students, including auditors, for net credit load reductions and withdrawals from the university during the Summer Term, the refund policy is as follows:
    1. Courses dropped prior to the first day of the instructional period will receive a 100 percent credit.
    2. Courses dropped within the first 20 percent of the course period, as defined by Student Enrollment Services, will receive a 50 percent credit.
    3. There will be no credit for courses dropped after 20 percent of the course period has passed.
  3. No credit shall be made for health and accident insurance premiums.
  4. Modular courses follow different refund policies than stated above. Inquire at Student Enrollment Services for details regarding a particular modular course’s refund policy.
  5. Upon written approval of the Vice President for Student Life, a full refund of all registration fees and tuition shall be given upon official withdrawal at any time during the first eight weeks of the semester in the following circumstances:
    1. Induction of the student into the U.S. Armed Forces;
    2. Death of a parent, spouse, child or legal guardian of the student; or
    3. Death of a student.
    4. No refund is made if withdrawal is after eight weeks, regardless of the circumstances. All refunds are made by check.
  6. In most cases, federal regulations require that refunds for students receiving financial aid must be refunded back to the financial aid program rather than the student. For information about exemptions to this policy, please contact Student Financial Services. Dropping below full time for students on financial aid may invalidate eligibility for financial aid. Students may owe UNLV for financial aid refunds.

Room and Board Refund

^Top

Students withdrawing from the residence hall will receive refunds according to the terms and conditions of the residence and dining hall contract.

  ^Top